Skip to content

A Day with Art is a Day Worth Living

October 11, 2012

Today I had a perfect day in Madison with my husband Brandon and little Fiona.

First, I dropped in and had a chat with one of my dearest friends, Brittany, who filled me in on her recent ArtBike Project. She is the Arts Coordinator at the Dane County Boys and Girls Club and she chose several kids to paint bikes that were then used in the B-Cycle system in Madison and also put on display. What a great way to get the kids involved and excited about art in the community.

 

Next up was breakfast at The Froth House, a wonderful cafe and music/art venue right off of Regent St. near the stadium. I would highly recommend — their food was AMAZING (I had the Formaggio). The art on display this month are monoprints by Mark Evans. So definitely go there. I was checking out the space because I am the artist for November, so I wanted to get an idea of how I would be installing my embroideries. So if you are in the Madison area, mark your calendar for my reception on November 13, between 5-7 at this great little space and come see all the new pieces I’ve been working on!

Of course, we had to stop by Hatch Art House, where I have a large selection of embroideries on display. The featured artist this month is Juliet Darken, and I’m a big fan of her work. I bought this print, Mythic Music, which I’ve had my eye on for a while!

 

I also stopped by Absolutely Art, another great gallery on the East side. I was happy to see Jennie Nuese’s ABC Prints! I followed her blog posts on the Library as Incubator website, and then I was a guest-blogger there for awhile there too.  So I just had to purchase Curtain as it was my favorite of the series.

 

I ran out of time and wish I could’ve stopped by the other great places to see art in Madison. But I really kicked myself when I got home and remembered that Glitter just moved to Atwood Ave. so I could’ve dropped in to see their new home quick. Well, it’s only about a half-hour drive to Madison for us so I will be up again soon!

Even a small purchase from a local gallery makes a huge impact. If there is a space that you appreciate, make sure to spend a little money there to keep them up and running! The next time you spend $5 on a card from a big box store, remember that you can spend the same amount of money on a handmade card and support a local artist.

Now, it’s kid-time and then hopefully I will get some stitching in tonight!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 8:20 pm

    I so agree – we should all try to buy art from the maker, instead of spending our hard-earned cash on something mass produced and for which the original artist probably gets a pittance! A handmade card is a great way to start if the budget is a bit tight. You bought some lovely artworks, and had a great day by the sound of things! =D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,197 other followers

